Waistrel

The pinstriped skirt is coming along nicely. (Although it’s one of the slowest things I’ve ever made.)

Pinstriped Skirt in Progress

I drafted the waistband today. Drafting was a simple affair; I just laid the skirt on some tracing paper, and drew along the line of the waist. I wanted my waist band to be 2″ thick, so I extended 2″ from my traced line, then added seam allowances. To draft the back of the waistband, I split the pattern at CB, and added a half inch seam allowance to one piece, and an inch and a half to the other to give lappage for my buttonholes.

Sounds simple, right. Except that I didn’t line up the edges properly when I sewed it in.

Rats!

Oh well. That’s what seam rippers are for, I guess.

Leave a Reply

